Thanks for all your great feedback on the event Saturday!! The rest of the weekend was very relaxing. I tried to sleep late but was up early anyway, so I relaxed for a bit with a cup of coffee.

cimg4729

Then I started getting a rumbly tummy, so I made the usual.

cimg4733

After getting ready for the day, I made a pit stop at Best Buy to drop off my camera. All the rest of my photos will be from the old camera I resurrected from a drawer in my bedroom. So glad that I am a pack rat!  I have the special charger for the batteries (yup, old school batteries) and the USB cable, whew!  After leaving my camera in the capable (hopefully!) hands of the Geek Squad, I hopped on the highway and headed down to Laguna Beach. I don’t have any pictures from Sunday because the camera batteries were charging at home, but believe me, it was an amazing day!

We are having a heat wave in CA and it was 95 degrees so of course we had to do a big beach trip. Laguna isn’t the closest beach by far, but Becky & Kate J (they are sisters, in case you were wondering!) hail from Laguna and their parents still live down there, making it the perfect place for beaching and having a big, family-style BBQ/beer pong/piano-playing food fest afterward.  On the way down to the beach, I got caught in some traffic but snacked on some strawberries that I so ingeniously thought to pack. For lunch, Becky and I traded halves of two delicious sandwiches — smoked salmon with cream cheese and grilled veggie with hummus & olive tapanade. MMM! Later I snuck 4 Sun Chips to crunch while reading Book Numero 2 in the Twilight series. Yup, 4…I am v. impressed by the brief appearance of my willpower!!

Back at the house, Chef Becky got cooking for the group…there were maybe 15 of us all together? We snacked on bread and cheese while everything was being marinated, mixed, boiled & baked.  The boys grilled chicken and turkey sausage, and I helped BeckO make a dreamy potato salad that was just red potatoes, balsamic vinegar, S&P, green onions, dill, cilantro & basil. It was delicious! She also cooked some beans and I made two chocolate cakes topped with some of Becky’s homemade icing.  Oh!! She also made the house drink, Cosmos, to go with our Coronas. It was a great night! I ate a little bit of everything we made, but was actually kind of full from the sun and the taste testing bites I took while cooking, so I didn’t over indulge in anything except maybe the bread when we first got home.

The weather stayed gorgeous all night, so of course none of us wanted to leave! I finally headed out around 11 PM and it was STILL hot enough to be outside in just our bathing suits and sundress cover ups…crazy!!

Three Things for Sunday

  1. Snacking on 4 Sun Chips instead of mindlessly munching from the bag
  2. Enjoying my Cosmo from a short glass, instead of a tall one
  3. Eating a few bites of chocolate cake instead of a big slice

Yesterday I was SO excited to be back at work of course. Kicked off the day with the usual good start!

p1013038

I was too tired last night to think about food, so I just swung by the grocery store and picked up a Lean Cuisine and some of those Green Giant Immunity Blend veggies.

p1013039

p1013040

By the end of the day, I basically felt like crud and just wanted to get home as fast as possible. I had every good intention of making myself some soup and buying some fresh Vitamin-C packed veggies to juice for a refreshing, throat-soothing pick-me-up, but by the time I got back to the apartment, I realized that my plan actually required having some energy in the first place, so I just raided the fridge instead. I started with this cool, soothing bowl of fruit.

p1013043

Followed by a cup of icy frozen peas.

p1013044

I was still sort of stuck on the idea of soup, but the 100 million degree heat in my apt changed my mind. Instead I made a super fast cold Mexican salad with lettuce blend, cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup cold black & kidney beans mixed, one 100 calorie Wholly Guacamole pack, and some salsa. On the side, I had a La Tortilla Factory tortilla spread with some of the guac.  I ate this outside becuase it was cooler out there than it was in my place!!

p1013047

I finished off dinner with a freezer-burned mango popsicle from Trader Joe’s. All I wanted was something cool and soothing! I love these TJ popsicles, especially the Caribbean ones!

p1013049

Three Things for Monday

  1. Going to the grocery store to get a Lean Cuisine & veggies instead of picking up food or ordering in
  2. Skipping the office latte run
  3. Eating a popsicle to soothe my throat instead of running out for some ice cream (which I seriously debated…being sick/tired won out!!)

Today I am feeling better but not awesome. I made the usual for breakfast. I am out of frozen fruit and almost done with my box of Kashi, oh no! I might have to make a grocery run today…

p1013050

For lunch, I finally got my soup! I had a bowl of Progresso Minestrone with a serving of ak-mak crackers on the side. Yum, it is much cooler in my office since we actually have AC here!!

p1013053

I have also been guzzling Emergen-C all day, so hopefully this stuff works its magic :)

p1013051

After lunch, we celebrated an office birthday with some ice cream cake. In my office, we all sing and then eat the cake together and chat, sort of a little break/bonding. I tried to be good by asking for a smaller slice. Some cake I could turn down completely, but not a chocolate peanut butter ice cream one! Ice cream cake is my absolute favorite. For some reason it did NOT sit well in my stomach though! I could feel my belly sloshing all over the place.

Once I got home, I decided to take a walk to Trader Joe’s to pick up some goodies for dinner. I am feeling better but not great, and this seemed like the best way to get some air and movement! Back home, I made a nice side salad with Catalina free dressing.

p1013055

I cooked up some Italian, TJ style. First, eggplant cutlets. These are great! About 170 calories per serving and SO tasty.  I also made 1 cup dry whole wheat and vegetable pasta blend. Delish!

p1013057

I also sipped on a bottle of Full Sail Pale Ale. I am not a big beer drinker, but for some reason, a cold beer sounded so amazing to me, and since you can get just one at TJ, I picked up this guy! I drank half with dinner.

pale-ale-cropped

For dessert, I grabbed some TJ Organic Soy Creamy Chocolate goodness. I wanted something cold but the freezer was seriously cleaned out!! Everyone must be thinking the same thing as me in all this heat. I had a few spoonfuls of this — pretty good!  I should have just put it in a bowl because my few bites definitely turned into at least a serving, oops.

p1013060

Right now I am watching TBL. Mike is about to talk to his dad…Can’t wait to see what happens!!

Three Things for Tuesday

  1. Brought healthy crackers for my soup instead of grabbing a roll
  2. Walked to the grocery store
  3. Drank 1/2 beer rather than the whole bottle

Last but not least, I got tagged by Danielle to do the Survey of 8’s that’s been going around.  Thanks Danielle!!

8 Things I’m Looking Forward To:

  1. Visiting my sister in Boston
  2. Getting my camera back
  3. Becca coming to LA
  4. Weekend trips to Laguna
  5. Eating my first watermelon of the season
  6. Using my tax return to pay off my credit card!
  7. Going to Julia’s movie screening tomorrow night!!
  8. Next girls’ weekend in Vegas

8 Things I Did Yesterday

  1. Finished the New Moon book
  2. Ate dinner outside
  3. Turned on my fan for the first time since last summer
  4. Snuggled in front of said fan with the kitties (they wanted to get cool too!!)
  5. Bummed around on the couch, being sick…sorry, I’m not very exciting when I don’t feel good!

8 Things I Wish I Could Do:

  1. Remember to schedule my long list of doctors appointments!!
  2. Surf
  3. Live even closer to the ocean
  4. See my family and friends back East all the time
  5. Have a list of ever book I’ve ever read
  6. Find 1 new sport and 1 new hobby I really love
  7. Sail a boat
  8. Roadtrip cross country

8 Shows I Watch:

  1. The Office
  2. The Biggest Loser
  3. Gossip Girls
  4. Private Practice
  5. Grey’s Anatomy
  6. 30 Rock
  7. New Adventures of Old Christine
  8. Samantha Who

Now I have to tag 8 people to fill out this survey…hope you guys haven’t already done it (or actually want to do it LOL)!!

Mariposa
Marisa
Diana
Melissa
Ashley
Kailey
Kaneil
Coley