The past 24 hours have been all over the place. I left work yesterday on time for once to meet Julia for dinner. We went to M Street Kitchen where I got to enjoy one of my favorite salads. It might not look like much, but the combination of spinach, parmesan, tomatoes, almonds, homemade croutons and herb-avocado vinaigrette is truly delicious.

We also got an appetizer that’s worth repeating: edamame, blistered padrón peppers, and tempura green beans. The blackened peppers were just a bit spicy and so tasty.

M Street Kitchen also has a great bakery, with face-sized cookies. We bought four (stuck one in the car for the boy) and headed just down the street for a post-dinner drinks. We tried a new-to-the-neighborhood spot, Brick & Mortar, where apparently they make their own tequila that soaks for hours in big glass jars filled with peeled mangoes. We didn’t order any…but didn’t say no either. It was a great night!

Then today I took my car for a routine oil change. I hopped on the freeway to head back to work $65 poorer (is it even possible to get an oil change without being talked into more services?) and my tire blew out. Of course, I didn’t realize it was my tire and continued to drive until the shaking and shuddering forced me to pull over. Gulp.

Luckily, the boy is the calm in the eye of my storm and talked me down from hysterics. Despite being sick, he hit the road to help me out but Geico once again came through for me and sent someone to change my tire at no charge, so he didn’t have to drive an hour to meet me. Do you think I bought enough “thank you” chicken soup for his sore throat?

I wish I could say these past 24 hours were more hectic than most, but that would be totally untrue considering that the next 3 days involve 1) my youngest sister visiting from NJ, 2) my middle sister turning 25 and 3) a bachelorette party in Las Vegas. Game faces! Or, cookie faces if you’d prefer. I wasn’t kidding about these beauties!