I stayed in the apartment relaxing this weekend. Sure, I still got up at 7:30am on Saturday and started the day by cleaning my kitchen, but as long as I am 1) at home and 2) in sweats, I consider that a lazy morning. I *deserved* a boring weekend after the last one…

Rachel turned 25!

Marissa had her Vegas bachelorette party. There was a scavenger hunt, drinking, group serenades and dancing involved. Until 4am. We had a very giggly, girly fun time together, and I know Marissa had a blast, which is the most important part.

My littlest sister visited LA, and we went to Palm Springs for the day! It was a first for us both — pure 95 degree palm-tree-and-pool perfection.

I did get out of the house Saturday night for Rachel’s performance at the Cirque School LA student showcase. She’s been taking classes for about a year learning aerial silk skills, and she was incredible. I can’t even imagine being able to pull myself up the fabrics, let alone do all the wraps and drops. In case you aren’t familiar with aerial silks, here’s the Wikipedia 101:

Aerial silk is a type of performance in which one or more artists perform aerial acrobatics while hanging from a special fabric. Performers climb the suspended fabric without the use of safety lines, and rely only on their training and skill to ensure safety. They use the fabric to wrap, suspend, fall, swing, and spiral their bodies into and out of various positions. Aerial silks may be used to fly through the air, striking poses and figures while flying.

There was a sexy space bombshell theme, which was weird enough to work. In addition to the silks, we saw trapeze and aerial hoops, along with tumbling and hand balancing. It was so cool watching Cirque de Soleil-type skills being performed by “regular” people like my sister. Here she is in action!

Rachel is a gymnast and has been a little lost since giving up the sport after college. I am so happy that she’s found something new to learn and love. It was seriously impressive!

My exercise for the weekend included a beach walk with Julia, which was lovely as always. I also baked some killer banana bread, polished off a few loads of laundry, …and am not ready for work tomorrow. What else is new?!