I’ve really been neglecting my camera lately and it shows in the lack of pictures I have to share. Luckily my phone makes photos-on-the-go possible! Here are some of the more recent highlights, which feature lots of friends, family, and summer fun (quite possibly my three favorite things).

A hippie-themed birthday party. We celebrated Courtstock (the Courtney-inspired version of Woodstock) with a backyard party and lots of fabulous costumes. I made my daisy headdress in the movie theater parking lot just before going to see Snow White and the Huntsman the afternoon of the party; only my boyfriend would have a wire cutter in the car — thank goodness. It made my last minute DIY project a hundred times easier.

An amazing brunch in Venice. This breakfast happened post-party and was much needed. Rosemary toast, lox, medium-poached eggs, green cilantro salsa…and an unpictured side of potatoes. I’d love to repeat this meal soon.

Rose Cafe, home of said amazing brunch. My sister lives nearby but it was a first visit for all of us. I was happy that our particular selections really lived up to the hype. Even the lattes were delicious.

Book and green juice at the beach. I wish I could skip the celery, but love the ginger and lemon in this mix. I’ve been craving these drinks regularly. Really wish they weren’t so pricey…I’d steal my juicer back from my sister, but I was too lazy to use it before. Not sure anything’s changed in that department. Also, where would I put it?! Juicers are huge! 

A birthday message for my littlest sister. I was at the beach for a big chunk of the day, watching the boy in a paddle board race off the Santa Monica pier. The two of us talk a lot through Instagram, so this picture was the perfect way to wish her a happy day. She never answers her phone; Instagram: 1, Voicemail: 0.

A spicy lunchtime drink with an old friend. Speaking of things I’ve been craving lately, in addition to fresh juice, I’ve fallen a little bit in love with spicy, jalapeno drinks. This one made with dark rum was also flecked with crushed red pepper and had a great bite.

Sprinkles cupcakes on a Friday afternoon. I had half red velvet, half double chocolate. Out of the dozens of places I’ve tried, Sprinkles remains my favorite. I can turn down just about any office treat but this one.

My college roommate with a beautiful, albeit gloomy, backdrop. Lauren came to visit LA and spent the weekend with me. We had two days full of good food, long talks, shopping, socializing…and little sunshine. Still, we didn’t let the hazy weather keep us from a scenic drive up the coast!

One more “happy” — a belated one to my dad for Father’s Day! Unlike my sister, he does answer his phone and doesn’t use Instagram, but he also reads this blog. I got him a food mill as a gift and he’s already put it to use! Dad, I’m counting on some extra fabulous mashed potatoes next time I see you.

