After my weekend of snacking (seriously, I was better this weekend than I am most others!!) I was ready to start the week on the right foot!  I had coffee and my favorite yogurt blend for breakfast. This one had 1/2 banana, 2 jumbo strawberries, a few pieces of frozen fruit, a handful of grapes, and a half cup of kashi.  Check out my cute MIT coffee mug from my sis 🙂

cimg2607

I brought lunch to work today, but ended up going to a menu tasting for work instead.  It’s SO hard sometimes to stay on track at work when we go out to eat and I don’t have much choice in what to order…but I guess that’s sort of a lame complaint. Especially when the food is really good. So we went to Mirabelle, one of our restaurant clients. They are offering a new lunch menu and wanted us to test it out!! Here’s a rundown of everything I ate…

Starter: 4 artichoke leaves (is that what they are called??), 1 piece of calamari, some chopped salad w/gala apples, candied pecans and sherry vinaigrette

Main course: 1/4 wrap on spinach tortilla w/hummus, avocado, lettuce, tomato, cuke, carrot, sprouts, olives (ick) & sesame orange dressing; handful of sweet potato fries and a couple shoe string ones; 3 bites braised shortrib w/spoonful of mashed potatoes; 3 bites roasted jidori chicken breast w/spoonful wild mushroom barley

It was all really yummy!! I didn’t feel that full when we left because it was lots of bites here, bites there, but then I stayed full for most of the day, so I guess it was a lot more than I thought.

Around 4:30 I dug into my afternoon/pre-workout snack.  Whenever I plan on going to the gym, I usually try to eat something between 3-4 at work.  I’m usually peckish by then anyway, and if I don’t eat, I am way too hungry by the time I get home. Since I usually eat dinner around 8PM, it’s way too long to go from noon when I eat lunch to 8PM + working out without eating anything!!

Today I had a new find — Western Bagel’s Perfect 10 bagel.  Each one of these suckers is only 140 calories (20 fat cals), 2g fat (no sat or trans fat), 9g fiber, and 18 GRAMS OF PROTEIN! Of course it can’t compare to a good ole NY style bagel, but the nutrition is awesome and they taste pretty darn good, especially toasted.  I had 1/2 with a tbsp of my new hummus find from last night.  This yummy creation was a great snack for only 110 calories.

bagel with hummus

I also drank a cup of green chai tea.  Here’s the kind I used:

stash chai green tea

My snack held up pretty well! I went to the gym and did 60 minutes on the elliptical.  I was hungry when I got home, but not starving and tearing into the first thing I could get my hands on.  Instead, I made a salad with my boring remaining ingredients (lettuce blend, tomato, red onion) and added 4 halved, roasted brussel sprouts.  I got these from the Farmers Market near my office and they are jumbo and delicious.  I coated them with a light mist of EVOO and added some lemon pepper seasoning before cooking in the oven.  You couldn’t really taste the seasoning though after I added balsamic vinegar to the salad. I ended up really enjoying this!

cimg2617

I also made a veggie eggroll from Trader Joe’s with some edamame. Usually I eat more than this for dinner but for some reason I couldn’t think of anything else I wanted.

cimg2621

Finally my brain and belly came to an agreement and decided that a handful of grapes and 4 calimyrna figs would be a perfect dessert.  Again, very weird that I haven’t had chocolate today LOL. I won’t question it!! Sorry no pic, my camera does not seem to want to take a shot of all those seeds in the figs! Whew okay now it’s midnight and I am exhausted. My computer is soooo slow!! Off to sleep, zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

