Last night I decided to make some baked goods to send to my family for Valentine’s Day.  My sisters are both away at college, so I figured something homemade would be perfect for these care packages 🙂

With The Chic Life’s Weekly Food Challenge ingredient in mind (Pomegranate Juice!!), I came up with two delicious treats.  First was a generic peanut butter press cookie with pomegranate icing.  Easy peasy and delicious! I made the icing with pomegranate juice and confectioners sugar, plus a drop of food coloring to brighten up the hearts.

cimg2862

cimg2865

Then came the fun part — Healthy (ish) Oatmeal Pomegranate Chocolate Chunk Bing-tastic Cookies! Whew, that name is a mouthful (literally, because every time I am saying it, I am eating one of these cookies LOL). I adapted a recipe from Cookbook Junkie that I discovered online. Here’s the little gem:

  • 1 & 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tbsp. canola/vegetable oil
  • 1 lg. egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 & 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried bing cherries
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chunks
  • 1/4 cup pomegranate juice

Preheat oven to 375. Combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda & salt and set aside.  In another bowl, combine brown sugar, sugar, applesauce, oil, egg, pomegranate juice & vanilla. Stir until blended, then add flour mixture and mix well.  Add oats, cherries, chocolate and stir.

Bake 10-12 minutes until bottoms are golden brown.  Let stand 2 minutes, then remove to cool completely.

This recipe made 36 cookies! They are SO GOOD. I wish I were eating one right now actually. YUM!!

cimg2887

cimg2888

cimg2894

The dark chocolate chunks, bing cherries, and oats combined are totally heavenly. I couldn’t noticeably taste the pomegranate, but I think it sweetened them up a bit because I took a little swipe at the batter both before and after adding it, and it was definitely a little fruity and sweeter after adding the pom juice. I bet these would have been awesome with pom seeds instead of cherries for a different type of flavor, but unfortunately I didn’t have any!

Definitely recommend these 🙂 Thanks Diana for the fun challenge!! I’m so glad I got to experiment and create these.  This is a recipe I will repeat for sure!

Oops, speaking of challenges and the like, I forgot to mention that Beadie has posted her first giveaway!!

