Happy Friday everyone! Today I get to kick off my post with a lovely gift from the amazing Marisa at Trim The Fat — the Kreativ Blogger Award!!! Thanks Marisa for making my day, you rock 🙂

kreativ_blogger_award

When receiving this award, you must list 7 things you love and pass the award on to 7 bloggers. Here is list of lovies!

  1. my family
  2. my girlfriends
  3. my pets
  4. the beach 
  5. reading
  6. breyer’s mint chocolate chip ice cream
  7. hot showers

If only I could combine the last three, that would be really awesome.  Reading in the shower while eating ice cream, swoon!!! Thank you again Marisa! Everyone be sure to check out her awesome blog if you don’t read it regularly already 🙂

I am sending some blog love to a few of my faves. Sorry if you’ve already done this!

Balance is Best

The Chic Life

Foods That Fit

Daily Goods

The Long Weigh

Summer Slim

A Year of Healthy Eating

It’s funny, these awards are like a much more fun version of email chain letters LOL. Okay, on to Thursday’s eats! For breakfast I had the usual with cherry berry blend, 2 figs, 1/4 cup kashi, half cup puffins, half banana. Puffins and I are going to have to break up…more on that later, you will see!

cimg4083

We had catered meetings in the office again yesterday, so it was food overload. I decided to stick with my own lunch, but added this nice plate of fruit.

cimg4084

I also had a Perfect 10 bagel with 2 tbsp lemon cilantro hummus, half a green pepper, and the remaining crackers in my box of Kashi cheddar. I definitely could have used a few more of these, love ’em!

cimg4085

For dessert, I had a bite of this chocolate bread my boss brought back from her business trip to NYC. It was good!!

cimg4087

A few more grapes made it into my mouth right before leaving the office! I skipped the gym in favor of cleaning. In between wiping counters, putting away junk, vacuuming & washing floors, I nibbled on some snacks and read a new girly book. I had some v. frozen edamame — check out that ice!

cimg40911

Plus a cup of diet hot chocolate & coffee. This was okay. I think for now I will stick to either one or the other!!

cimg40921

I also paused the cleaning for some dinner. Last night nothing sounded especially appealing but I wanted to make sure I had some veggies, so I went with a spinach, mushroom, red pepper, red onion egg beater omelet with a sweet potato on the side. I got impatient while microwaving the potato and pulled it out too early so some parts were a lil tougher but that didn’t stop me from chowing down, of course!

cimg4093

After dinner I treated myself to the one thing that had been on my mind all night…yes, pb puffins. I started out with a nice, normal 1 cup portion. The real trouble started when I grabbed the box and settled back onto the couch with the box & my book and started to mindlessly eat…

I CAN’T BUY THESE ANYMORE!!!! Seriously, I bought the box last night and it is almost gone. I am so annoyed at myself, and it’s such a stupid thing to be annoyed over. I know that a little part of it has to do with the time of the month — I tend to have one week of insatiable hunger and cravings. But still, all that aside, I just have no control whenever I eat this cereal! Maybe this seems like I am making a big deal out of nothing but it just feels very indicative toward my food attitude lately. What do you guys do when you need to curb back your free-for-all eating habits? Any advice is seriously appreciated!!

cimg4094

I brought the box of puffins to the airport so my mom could taste them and get them off my hands! Of course, she loved them too 🙂

I was SOOOOOO excited to see her! I got to show her my apartment and kittens and roommate, which is awesome. It’s nice knowing that now when I talk about all of these things, she will know exactly what I mean. She also brought me a box of the much coveted Dunkin Donuts MUNCHKINS!!! Some of my most perfect days have included long drives along the ocean in the summer early mornings with a DD iced coffee in one hand and a glazed donut in the other. HOWEVER, for some crazy unknown reason, there are NO Dunkin Donut locations in SoCal. Which means that these guys are a very rare treat!!

P.S. I love that the slogan is “America Runs on Dunkin.” UMMM California is in America too people!!! Okay, calming down now haha.

cimg4097

cimg4098

I made some nice homemade rooibos tea lattes for me & my mom and we cuddled on the couch and watched The Office & 30 Rock while munching away. Okay, much of the munching was by me, I must admit. And no, we didn’t eat all of these but I definitely had more than my fair share!

Tonight I am having a big dinner at my place so my mom can meet all my girls out here and vice versa! I have stocked up on wine, cheese, bread, hummus, crackers, chips, salsa, pasta, chicken sausage, eggplant cutlets…we will definitely be feasting tonight! I think there are going to be 8 of us all together. I’m so excited!!! Last time my mom was in LA, I had maybe 2 girlfriends? I’m so grateful to have met so many awesome people since then and I can’t wait for them to meet her!!!!

Hope everyone is having a fantastic FRIDAY 🙂

