Happy belated Easter everyone! Get ready for a picture-filled post ๐Ÿ™‚

Breakfast Saturday was a yogurt mess & coffee that I enjoyed in my sun-filled room while reading the new John Grisham, The Associate.ย  I love relaxing weekend mornings!

cimg4440

For lunch, I had the rest of my pizza…

cimg4441

…and made another piece using 1/2 of the dough I put aside on Friday night. This one got topped with tomatoes, mushrooms, rosemary, goat cheese & sea salt. I’m majorly loving this dough!!

cimg4442

cimg4443

After lunch I went shopping again for my sister’s birthday.ย Still nothing!! Everything I found was ugly or overpriced…When I got home, I snuggled back in bed and finished off the book with a big handful of Easter chocolates.

cimg4444

All that pizza and chocolate had me stuffed the rest of the day! Finally, I tackled my baking for Sunday. I got a late start and didn’t finish until 2 AM, oops!

I started with the Ukrainian Easter bread, paska. This dough has to rise 3 times, 3.5 hours in total. Yup, definitely should have started it earlier ๐Ÿ™‚

cimg4470

While the dough was rising, I started on my pies. I wanted to make a strawberry rhubarb one, but I went to five stores and there was no rhubarb to be found! So the pies turned into an experiment, and I tossed together strawberries, blueberries, bananas, sugar, vanilla extract, flour, lemon juice, and the special ingredient found by Julia — strawberry rhubarb jelly!ย  You couldn’t really taste the rhubarb in the pie, but the jelly definitely added a sweetness. For the top, I made a crumble. Why not have pie crust AND crumble I figure!

Here’s the baking in action:

cimg4474

cimg4475

cimg4477

cimg4480

Of course, I had to have a little taste of the pie that I wasn’t bringing to brunch. AHHHHHH.MMMMMMMMM.AHHHHHHHHH. Yeah, it was pretty good.

cimg4484

Meanwhile, as the pies were baking, I was busy with the bread. Punching dough is so therapeutic!

cimg4479

Finally, after the last round of rising, the bread was ready to bake. Check out my fancy crisscross ropes ๐Ÿ™‚

cimg4485

45 minutes later, out popped this beauty!

cimg4487

Ta-da!!!

cimg4491

Look at all those yummy golden raisins!

cimg4493

Of course, I decided that pie and bread really does make the perfect meal, so I had a slice of bread, topped with a hard boiled egg. Since we only have this bread at Easter, there are always eggs on the table as well.ย  I love combining the two! Freshly baked goods for dinner = best idea ever.

cimg4495

Sunday morning, I had a chance to try one of the Stonyfield Farms Oikos yogurts that Kristina sent me!!ย  I don’t usually buy greek yogurt, so I made sure to add honey and blueberries for extra sweetness. I was really pleasantly surprised! The yogurt was super thick, and even though the honey was a nice touch, I really liked the taste without the added sweetener. It was much milder than some other greek yogurts I’ve had, which I like. I have a few more coupons to test the yogurt and then I will give you guys a full review, but I definitely enjoyed this one!

cimg4499

After getting all dressed up (does everyone else wear some kind of white dress on Easter, or is that just me?!) and going to church, I came home for breakfast part 2 — eggs and paska, of course!

Growing up, we always had an egg slicer to cut our hardboiled eggs. Then I found out that some people don’t know about the egg slicer and use a…knife?! What?! People, if you don’t have one of these guys, I highly recommend shelling out the $2 at Target and getting one…it’s amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is my hardboiled egg cutting demo, cause I know you are all dying to check it out:

cimg4500

cimg4501

cimg4502

Yay! Perfectly sliced eggs, every time.

Then I headed over to Stephanie’s for our annual (I think I can say annual, this is the 2nd year we did this Steph!!) Easter brunch/lunch/afternoon picnic, which basically involves a nice spread with no real finish time…we just pick at everything all day!

This year we laid everything out at a park across from Steph’s place. Four of us dug into some especially delicious dishes, including a mostly egg white veggie quiche:

cimg4506

Arugula & grapefruit salad:

cimg4508

Ham & onion quiche:

cimg4509

Paska bread:

cimg4504

Plus hardboiled eggs for the bread, of course ๐Ÿ™‚

For dessert, we had Starburst jellybeans and PIE! The fruit pie was a big hit. Once it cooled, everything stayed together perfectly ๐Ÿ™‚

cimg4511

Since it was so sunny and pretty out, Stephanie and I stayed camped out on our blanket and enjoyed the weather. While she studied (blah!), I started reading Twilight! Now, I haven’t read any of the books or seen the movie, so I haven’t followed all the fuss over this series, but I must admit, I am really enjoying it! The book is fun and super easy to read, and I can see how it would make a really awesome movie. I think Steph has the whole series (??) and I know she has the movie, so I see all of that in my future ๐Ÿ™‚

We left the pie and paska on the blanket with us and snacked until the sun started dipping and it got chillier around 6. Last night I did my TAXES…hello, procrastination. I was pretty full from snacking all day, so in lieu of a real dinner, I just picked atย some more pie and bread while working. Iย got the federal ones filed (whew!!) and Iย have one more little thing to do today for the state ones and I am done. Way to wait until the last minute, right?!

Hope everyone had a wonderful Easter/Passover/weekend!! Can’t wait to catch up on all your yummy meals ๐Ÿ™‚

