Happy Belated Administrative Professionals Day!! That’s what we were shouting when we surprised the office managers with brunch Friday morning. Everyone brought in food and we had a little potluck.  I donated chocolate chip muffins, homemade by India Thursday night, to the table — thanks India!!  We got a huge jug of Starbucks coffee.  I had two cups and MAN that stuff is way stronger than what I make at home.  I was not wired at all but in a caffeine stupor.  I also had a bagel (just half is pictured here but I ate the whole thing!) with low-fat cream cheese, a slice of chocolate rugelach, and some apple slices & cubes of pineapple.  VERY FILLING!

p1013070

For lunch I brought my leftovers from last night. These burgers are great. This hummus is great. I love this meal!  Instead of sweet potato on the side, I sliced up some polenta and nuked it. It’s much better when baked/broiled, but it fit in my mini tupperware and was easy to make (two big lunch requirements LOL).

p1013071

I had this piece of rugelach x way too many more bites along with some apple slices and pineapple, making me lose the good food feeling I had after lunch.  The rugelach was absolutely delicious but I definitely overdid it with breaking off and eating too many pieces because I was FULL to the brim on sugar and it did not feel so good.

p1013074

Luckily Julia was home and wanted to go on a hike with me after work.  We hiked the hard side of the canyon going up, and ran down the middle paved trail. Man, one week break from exercise really does make a difference! I was huffing and puffing way more than usual. On the way home, we dropped into Coffee Bean and I got an iced coffee to help me power through the night!

Of course, we were running late as usual and got home at 8:30 still needing to shower, eat dinner and get ready to go to an 80s tribute show at 9:30, oops! I had a La Tortilla Factory tortilla stuffed with a TJ chile lime chicken burger and some tomato & basil hummus with broccoli on the side. These burgers have 19 grams of protein!

p1013076

By some crazy miracle (or because the boys knew we would be late and told us to come an hour earlier than the band went on LOL), we got to the bar before the show started.  The 80s band was awesome!! I wanted to hold onto the healthy mindset I had forced between eating all that pastry and going on a hike, so I stuck to diet coke at the bar. Surprisingly I don’t need a drink to dance at a bar, crazy, right?!

When I got home around 1 AM, I was pretty hungry so I poured maybe a cup, cup & a half of Kashi with some strawberries and caught up on The Office!

p1013079

Today I am headed to the outlets and then Laguna Beach for dinner with Becky.  Hope y’all are having a great weekend!

Three Things for Friday

  1. Walked to the canyon (adds about 4 miles round trip to the hike) instead of driving there
  2. Low calorie, high protein dinner
  3. Drank only diet coke at the bar
