I love having this extra day! Sunday morning I woke up before 7 AM. Apparently my body definitely hasn’t gotten the weekend/vacation memo!! I made a cup of that gorgeous Godiva chocolate and a yogurt mess.

CIMG5136

CIMG5138

I finished my breakfast, posted, and caught up on your lives all before 8:30!  I spent the rest of the morning relaxing and doing too much nothing. I tried to lay down for a bit but didn’t fall asleep. Around 11, my stomach started growling but I wanted to head down to the beach for lunch, so I had half a Ginger Snap Larabar to tide me over. It shut up my belly immediately and ended up keeping me full for another 3 hours!

CIMG5143

I headed down to Santa Monica & Third Street Promenade. This spot is one of my absolute favorite places in LA. The Promenade is filled with restaurants and shops and people everywhere.  Families, friends, couples — every body walks around in the sun, happy, enjoying the palm trees and bright, beachy colors. Yesterday, there were tons of people rollerblading, biking, tanning, picnicking, and flying kites.

CIMG5139

I did a tiny bit of window shopping before stopping by Panera to grab some lunch. Then I drove down and found a nice sunny spot in a little park to eat my half Mediterranean sandwich (without the feta), black bean soup, and french baguette.

CIMG5140

CIMG5141

I ate my lunch while reading The Piano Teacher by Janice Y. K. Lee. I’m not too far into the book but I like it so far. It’s not amazing but it’s different…

51emijJiGAL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_

I didn’t bring a bathing suit to the beach though, BOO! It ended up being pretty warm and I probably could have laid out for a bit. When I got home, I got to see Julia!!! Poor girl has been working like crazy. We made plans to go out with some of her friends for appetizers and drinks. In an attempt to fill my belly a little bit before going out, I had some watermelon and heated cinnapple cubes. These little snacks did a great job of keeping me from ordering a ton of food once we finally sat down for dinner at the restaurant!

CIMG5142

CIMG5146

Julia convinced me to walk the 2+ miles to the bar…she’s so good like that! At dinner, the two of us split a tuna burger topped with guacamole and onions, with some mixed greens on the side. I also had one glass of white wine and one glass of pink champagne, interspersed with a couple of diet Cokes. I am so happy that I ended up having just two drinks; if I had kept pace with the group, it would have been more like four or five, easily!

Afterwards, we dropped sleepy Julia at home and I went out with the boys to Barney’s Beanery. Sunday is karaoke night and the bar was SO PACKED. The singing was v. entertaining!! And by entertaining of course I mean ridiculously funny.  We played some pool and I majorly sucked. The guys ordered a couple pitchers of beer and even though they kept my glass full, I only had maybe half of one glass all night. I’m not really the biggest beer fan so it was easy to sip slowly! I had 2 1/2 drinks in the 6 hours I was out at the bars…I’m so happy about that!!! It usually would be so many more in that long time span.

I got home around 2 AM and made myself a bowl of yogurt with some blueberries and 1/4 cup Kashi Heart to Heart. I don’t want to make nighttime snacking a habit but I definitely needed this to get to sleep because my dinner was so light!

Today I slept in until 8:30 — big steps, right?!? I see another yogurt mess on my horizon, with more of that delicious coffee!! Hope everyone is enjoying their extra long weekend. I think this might be the first time I’ve ever said YAY MONDAY!!!!!!!

Three Things for Sunday

  1. Ate a light snack before dinner to fill me up BEFORE the restaurant
  2. Split a tuna burger with Julia & didn’t eat any of the fries or pizza on the table
  3. Broke up my drinks with diet Cokes
