Thursday, May 28th, 2009


Since Stephanie is the person who got me into reading food blogs in the first place, I thought she deserved a special post for her birthday!!!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY GIRLIE PIE!

out on the town

out on the town

If Steph and I were dating, our story would be the cutest.  Since she is dating Josh and not me, it will just have to remain the cutest friends story. Steph and I went to college together in DC and had the same French class together my sophomore year, her freshman year. We became best class friends…you know, the person you always sit next to and discuss all the details of your life with but you never really see outside of that one class?? Well, the next year I went to France for study abroad and of course Steph went her junior year but that was a year later so we never had class again and we totally lost touch.

silliness

silliness

Then, the year after I moved to LA, Steph was finishing up an internship at a PR firm in DC and decided that she was moving out to the west coast with her boyfriend, who was planning to attend med school in LA.  The people at the company suggested she get in touch with their intern from the previous year who had also moved out to California after graduation. YES, that intern was me!! How weird is it that we had the same job?! Anyway, so I get an email from Steph, followed up with a message on my Facebook after she saw my photos saying, “I thought your name sounded familiar; did we used to be best friends in French class?!”

disney christmas

disney christmas

YES Stephanie, we DID!!! We reunited in LA at the Griddle for massive pancakes and it was love at first sight and the rest is history. Steph is the person who motivated me to quit my last PR job that I hated so much when she went back to school last summer. She’s also the person who got me reading food blogs and eating such weird and interesting foods!! I can also thank Stephanie for my pizza stone, some amazing cookbooks, my reading of the entire Twilight saga, Easter brunches, my purple Kaitlin purse AND an awesome, amazing supportive friend.

awkward karaoke

awkward karaoke

Love you Steph!!! Can’t wait to celebrate! Poor girl is so busy studying but I will drag her out hopefully tomorrow 🙂

Must needed temporary tattoos

must needed temporary tattoos

 I’ll be back tonight with some foodie recaps for your drooling pleasure!

 

Have to make this somewhat quick because I have some writing to do for work…breakfast was the regular.

CIMG5223

For lunch I had a big ole plate of health. My coworkers probably think I’m a little crazy! I topped the other half of my acorn squash with 1/4 block tempeh and a Green Giant 100-calorie steamer pack that contained snow peas, potatoes, and red peppers.

CIMG5224

I feel healthy just looking at this stuff :)

I feel healthy just looking at this stuff 🙂

After lunch I did some more magazine reading and discovered The Food Network magazine. I’m seriously in love…the recipes in here look awesome!!!

CIMG5226

Pretty sure you guys needed to see these chocolates!!!

Pretty sure you guys needed to see these chocolates!!!

Then Crystal Light had a party in my water and dyed that baby RED! MMM neon water, my fave.

CIMG5230

I also had the best PB Fiber One bar for a pre-workout snack.

CIMG5231

I braved traffic to hit the gym for 50 minutes on the elliptical. It felt good to sweat it out a bit!! After the gym, I did some hungry grocery shopping. Luckily I made a list and more or less stuck to it. The one extra thing I did buy was my Perfect 10 bagels!!!! Have you guys missed those or what?!?!

I wanted to make a little salad but my lettuce was slimy (ick), and then we are out of balsamic vinegar, so I ended up just putting together a bowl of grape tomatoes, mushrooms, red & green onions, basil, kosher salt, and a Misto spray of EVOO. Pretty good!

CIMG5232

I used the last 1/3 of my homemade pizza dough to make a calzone with tomato sauce, cheese, mushrooms and onions.  Love that!

CIMG5235

Just to make sure I am keeping my meals on track, I counted the calories for this calzone…approximately 400! Awesome! I can only imagine how many more calories it would be if I had ordered it from a restaurant, right?!?

Right now I have to do some press release writing for work tomorrow; hopefully they won’t take too long! I’m planning to have one of these when I take a little break…

CIMG5208

Three Things for Wednesday

  1. Wanted sweets after lunch but I refrained with mah Skinny Cow in mind
  2. Made it to the gym
  3. Measured out all the ingredients for my calzone