Hump day already?! This week is flying by! I am getting so excited for the 4th. I just love when everyone is in the holiday spirit! Okay, rewinding to SUNDAY…I woke up early to more blue skies and made a yogurt mess with one of my strawberry shortcake biscuits. Yum!

CIMG5920

I wanted to go to the beach again but was just too burned in a couple spots (bikini line and knees…how do I always miss those places?!) to get more sun so I skipped it and lazed around instead. Lunch was pretty light because I knew I’d be snacking/drinking later at the bbq. I started with some corn on the cob, one of my favorite summer foods (this piece x 2!).

CIMG5922

Followed by a bowl of broccoli and chicken!  I made a homemade sauce with some Better N’ PB, soy sauce and chili paste that tasted heavy on the soy and not very peanuty at all. I will definitely have to fool around with that recipe but it tasted good in a pinch.

CIMG5924

After lunch, I headed over to the bbq. Three of us swung by a cute little market to grab salt & vinegar chips, corn on the cob, filets, macaroni salad and Coronas. We all dug into the chips and Coronas as soon as we got back.  We chilled on the rooftop patio for a while just sipping our beers and chatting before rousing ourselves for a game of beer pong. Actually, make that two games. Kate W and I dominated and won both!!! After BP I switched over to diet Sunkist and stuck to that for the rest of the night. I haven’t had orange soda in AGES…it definitely reminded me of being a kid 🙂

Finally, more people started trickling in and we got HUNGRY all at once. We cooked the corn first — it was delicious!! I can’t wait to get some sweet NJ corn though next week when I am home. That’s one cob that can’t be beat!

CIMG5930

We also bought $50 worth of steak for the 7 of us 🙂

CIMG5935

My piece was awesome!!! I love a good grilled piece of meat, but usually don’t have it unless someone else is cooking it for me, so this was a nice treat. Plus a small scoop of the mac salad on the side. Sorry, no picture! It was around 9PM and we were HANGRY!!!! Kate Cubed did pose for one shot during the grilling though 🙂

CIMG5932

Julia and I got home around midnight and I crashed HARD. So tired! I was still sleepy Monday morning (no big surprise there) but my yogurt mess made me happy as always.

CIMG5938

The day was busy, busy, busy! I took a break to grab a frozen meal from Gelson’s. I was craving the tofu rice bowl from Aroma but settled for the Amy’s version.  It wasn’t nearly as good, but still pretty tasty. It held me over for a long time and I would probably buy it again but not too often because of the hefty price tag! Still, it was cheaper than going out for lunch and I knew exactly what I was getting 🙂

CIMG5939

I also snagged a Pink Lady apple while at the grocery store which came in very handy when I stayed an extra 2 hours at the office getting work done and needed to MUNCH!

CIMG5940

By the time I got home, I was hungry and tired so I pulled out the last piece of dough from the fridge and made a quick veggie pizza with tomato sauce, cheese, mushrooms, basil, red onion, red pepper, and lots of spicy red pepper flakes. I rolled out the crust SO thin that it stuck to the pizza stone and I had to scrape it off there.  On the plus side, the paper crust made for a ton of slices and I ended up with this plate times 2!!

CIMG5943

After pizza can you guess what I did? If you say crawl into bed and pass out, you would be correct!!! Tonight I should have some downtime though so I will catch you up and finally get through my Reader. That thing is both a blessing and a curse, right??

Hope you are all having a great SHORT week!!

