REEWIND! Saturday morning I woke up so late — 10 AM. I told Julia I would wake her up around 9 but she just let me sleep since 10 AM is so unprecedented πŸ™‚

Leaving our cars and bags at Newsroom on Friday night was a stroke of genius that meant we had to walk to the restaurant and have brunch. I know, genius. We both started off with nonfat lattes and shared the most amazing scone. This baby is multigrain, low fat, sugar free chocolate chip cherry banana with sugar free chocolate chips. It tasted fullY delicious!

CIMG5995

We ended up ordering two dishes to share and eating everything but the bread. Too full for bread = second unprecedented thing of the day!

egg white with spinach & onions and well-done red rosemary potatoes

egg white with spinach & onions and well-done red rosemary potatoes

chicken sausage

chicken sausage

frittata-style egg whites broiled with basil and tomato, apple & banana slices

frittata-style egg whites broiled with basil and tomato, apple & banana slices

up close & personal

up close & personal

After this amazing meal, we went back home to get ready for our day of bbqs and party hopping.Β  We started at the house of one of Julia’s friends from acting; we thought we would know no one else but I ended up bumping into some friends from college (big city, small world stuff) and we buddied up with some of the cool kids from Julia’s classes.Β  I had a glass of sangria, some fruit, and a few chips with guacamole but otherwise stuck to the diet COKE. What can I say?? It was too HOT in the Valley to think about doing anything else.

At our second stop of the night, we went to visit our friend Brian and ended up with a fan club! Julia kicked ass at a game of washoes (like horseshoes, only with huge metal washers. Invented by the boys of course) and we noshed on random bites of hot dogs and hamburgers and cake. Most of the food was either shared between the two of us or, in the case of my burger, 3 boys “helped” by taking huge bites and I got to finish the rest. Lucky me!

We stayed well into the dance party and then finally called it a night. Thank goodness Bossa Nova is always open until 4 AM and we could grab a mushroom & onion pizza. I wish I had pictures of the whole second half of my day but since I hardly knew a soul I felt a little weird lining them all up for photos!Β  It was a fantastic 4th; I’m so glad Julia and I got to meet some new people and make some new friends! We missed the fireworks however, which sucked, but we did see the mini display of (illegal?) backyard fireworks at Brian’s.

Sunday morning I woke up feeling pretty refreshed. Still stuffed for sure, but not hung over thanks to my day full of diet soda and no booze. Breakfast came a little later and I made the most of our leftover Newsroom bread. Dipped in Egg Beaters and cinnamon, my slice of french toast was awesome!

topped with 1/2 banana & 1 tbsp maple syrup

topped with 1/2 banana & 1 tbsp maple syrup

Lunch was also more leftovers; pizza crust, some salted corn-on-the-cob, and an Amy’s veggie burger with ketchup.

CIMG6002

CIMG6003

I spent the whole day doing laundry, cleaning, reading, watching TV, and snuggling.

CIMG6004

Late afternoon, I had an apple and WAY too much ice cream. I took this lovely picture of my bowl of Breyer’s Mint Chocolate Chip but ate much more than this little bit. Too much, since it kept me full until almost 10 PM!

CIMG6007

CIMG6006

My very late dinner was pretty light.Β  I made an Egg Beaters omelet with eggplant, mushroom and onions with 1/4 cup dry whole wheat pasta on the side. It was just what I needed to settle my stomach!

CIMG6008

Cute little story about my post title; my two little sisters used to sing the first few lines of “You’re A Grand Old Flag” every single time we passed an American flag on the way to the beach during the summer. Yes, it was so annoying! But around the 4th of July, there would be tons more flags so they would have to sing so fast that the words would flow together and sound just like “You’re a grand old flag, you’re a high highing hag” instead. Cracked them up like nothing else. Ah, sisters, gotta love ’em!

Hope getting back to the grind hasn’t been too traumatic πŸ™‚ Lucky me actually gets another long weekend since I arrive home in Jersey on Thursday…YAY!

