Yesterday afternoon I intended to hit the gym (even put on my workout clothes!!) but ended up relaxing instead. The lazy kittens convinced me to lounge around!

CIMG6271

Around 8, I ate a quick and easy dinner while getting ready to go out for drinks. The key is to be FULL but not stuffed, otherwise your belly sticks out all night and you can’t rock your cute outfit, right?! I cooked up some spinach, eggplant, red onion and hot pepper flakes, which actually tasted awesome, even though I used way too much salt. With a TJ chile lime chicken burger on the side, this was the perfect amount!

CIMG6274

Steph, Shar and I headed down to Santa Monica to check out Pourtal, a wine tasting bar that features a big list of wines that you can get by the ounce. Simply add money to your card and test away!

CIMG6279

We each tried 5 different wines. It was fun to read all the descriptions and subtle flavors, then pick and choose from those. My favorite was the Mansfield Reisling — I got this one twice; it was fabulous!

One of the 5 best Rieslings made in America. Late harvested fruit, very complex from unique 1200 litre barrel fermentation and 85% botrytis, the β€œnoble rot’ that makes this honeyed rich and vibrant.

CIMG6280

After the wine bar, we headed over to Barney’s Beanery on the Promenade for some brews. I got a Blue Moon but couldn’t even finish half! Why does beer make me so full?! Crazy. On the way home, we stopped off at Yogurtland but the place was closed! We contemplated pancakes from IHOP, curly fries from Jack in the Box, froyo from Yogurt Stop…but then sleepiness kicked in and we just headed home. Luckily I had a Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich waiting for me, whew!

CIMG5740

It was great to see the girls and try a new place! We also couldn’t help talking about how we are all turning into such old ladies, now that wine bars are way more our speed! I kind of like it though?! At least we don’t look like fuddy duddies yet πŸ™‚

CIMG6278

Shameless self-photography

Today I slept in until 9:30, sweet. After all our pancake talk, I had to whip up some of my own. I used my whole wheat/oat mix and added some cocoa powder and cinnamon applesauce. MMM!

CIMG6282

Unlike yesterday, I was totally motivated to hit the gym and my hour split between the elliptical and the bike flew by! Lunch after was a lovely yogurt mess; didn’t think I would go one day without these, right??

CIMG6283

I also had some fabu corn on the cob.

CIMG6284

And snacked on grapes all day…I bought a ton and tossed a bunch in the freezer. Frozen grapes = love! Then my busy bee roommate came home to me and we headed out to free yoga in Santa Monica. Her friend was teaching a class through Lululemon and had no idea how many people would show up. In the end, a good 35+ came out for yoga at sunset! We were on the grass overlooking the ocean, and it was glorious. Imagine the beautiful serenity of yoga and add golden sunshine and light beach winds to that. There was even a drummer and a guy playing the digeridoo, which made the air literally hum and dance with the vibrations!

CIMG6285

I had to follow Julia’s lead a bit — she’s my own personal instructor πŸ™‚

CIMG6286

I was ravenous by the time I got home and whipped up a quick dish of whole wheat pasta shells with veggies. I ate that in 2.5 seconds and was still hungry, so I had a bowl of minestrone soup and a Skinny Cow fudge pop for dessert. Perfect! This weekend flew by, but don’t they all?

AND in super exciting news, my sister Rachel just booked her ONE WAY ticket today to LA!!!! Now I just have to convince the rest of my family to move out here too and we’ll be in business πŸ™‚

