Wednesday was FULL of food but EMPTY of photographs! I had a lunch meeting that took over half the day, and we were scheduled to eat at while at the meeting, rather than at a restaurant.  Before we left the office, I was joking with one of my other coworkers that we would probably end up eating massive meat subs with tons of mayo, ick! Boy was I way off the mark!

We sat down to a huge conference table packed with gourmet dishes. I took a taste of everything: salad with goat cheese and figs, 21 day aged filet mignon, Cajun spiced chicken, pesto pasta salad, curried egg salad, tuna salad, caprese salad, grilled salmon, smoked salmon, potato salad, baby crab cakes, olive & ciabatta bread. About an hour and a half into the meeting, we broke for another nosh and I had a slice of bread with the curried egg salad. It was SO delicious! Of course a meal like that would be followed up with fabulous desserts, and we indulged in pear & chocolate tart, chocolate pistachio brownies, apple tart, grapes and blackberries. I made up a plate for three people to share — myself, my boss Jessica, and her baby bump. What, that counts, right?!

It was a TON of food and made the 3 hour meeting fly by. Of course I was stuffed the rest of the day and switched my dinner plans with Courtney from a Mexican restaurant to one that serves lots of fresh foods and salads. I was able to hit the gym for about 45 minutes before driving to Santa Monica. I got there about 25 minutes early, so I went for a jog around Main St and busted out a good sweat. Main Street is seriously a gorgeous, adorable area and running around the streets made me that much more anxious to move down there!

Courtney and I met at 8 for dinner and drinks at one of her favorites, La Grande Orange.  We were lucky enough to snag a table outside! We each started with a glass of a great Reisling from Oregon that was perfectly sweet. For dinner, I got the Sonoma Salad, with butter lettuce, roasted beets, almonds, asparagus, and goat cheese. The salad was delicious but since the menu didn’t list the dressing used, I forgot to ask for it on the side. I think the salad would have been really good sans all dressing actually!

Okay, back to photographs! Of the boring stuff you guys see all the time, oops.

yogurt mess breakfast

yogurt mess breakfast

kashi lemongrass coconut chicken + added spinach

kashi lemongrass coconut chicken + added spinach

extra greens are good!

extra greens are good!

Work was the pits, so I made a movie date with Katie Jo. Before heading over to the theater, I made a quick dinner of chicken & veggies (plus un-pictured acorn squash!).

CIMG6304

We ended up seeing The Cove, an award-winning documentary that received rave reviews at the 2009 Sundance Film Festival. Because I wouldn’t want to do the film one word of injustice, here is a description from Sundance’s website:

Flipper was one of the most beloved television characters of all time. But ironically, the fascination with dolphins that he caused created a tragic epidemic that has threatened their existence and become a multibillion dollar industry. The largest supplier of dolphins in the world is located in the picturesque town of Taijii, Japan. But the town has a dark, horrifying secret that it doesn’t want the rest of the world to know. There are guards patrolling the cove, where the dolphin capturing takes place, who prevent any photography. The only way to stop the evil acts of this company and the town that protects it is to expose them….and that’s exactly what the brave group of activists in The Cove intend to do. Armed with state-of-the-art surveillance equipment, the members of the small group, led by the most famous dolphin trainer in the world, devise a covert plan to infiltrate the cove to document the horrifying events that happen there. Along the way, they uncover what may be the largest health crisis facing our planet— the poisoning of our seas. Part environmental documentary, part horror film, part spy thriller, The Cove is as suspenseful as it is enlightening. The final result is a heart-wrenching, but inspirational, story that shows the true power of film in the hands of people who aren’t afraid to risk everything for a vital cause.

As a long-time lover of sea creatures, parts of this film were painful to watch. But I am SO glad I went to see it, because education is one of the first steps to change. You might remember hearing about this in the news last year, when Hayden Panettiere got arrested in Japan while trying to stop one of the dolphin hunts with a group of activists. Fisherman in the town of Taiji claim that dolphin hunting is traditional, but most people in Japan don’t even know that it’s happening! They receive $150,000 for each dolphin that is bought by aquariums around the world. Then, rather than setting the rest free, the dolphins are sold for their meat, which is actually incredibly high in mercury and not safe for consumption, but is “mislabelled” and sold as different, expensive types of fish.

I strongly recommend seeing this film or at least visiting www.takepart.com/thecove to learn more and educate your family and friends about this issue! I know that Katie Jo and I can’t stop talking about it!

I have a great Friday night recap for y’all but I’ll share that for a weekend update so this post isn’t a mile long. ENJOY those days off 🙂

