For the past week, Ella and Mookie have been reunited. Remember this sweet/stinky face?

CIMG6718

Well Julia came to pick her up in the dead of night (either that or I just went to bed particularly early) and Rachel and I awoke to find a bag of donuts with a cute note. Julia is currently taking a break from sweets and in her sugarless state, thought of the one thing she was craving above all else and then purchased it for us to consume instead. No complaints from me!

CIMG6825

So before I even went to work on Wednesday, I had half a chocolate glazed. Such a good way to kick off the day. My sugar high lasted me well throughout the morning ๐Ÿ™‚

CIMG6824

Of course, donut day also ended up being Sprinkles cupcakes day. Wait, we have that at least once a week at my office! Seriously, the one thing I canโ€™t resist and the only thing ad reps insist on sending us. We got a box that looked just like this one but with a little personalized note on the tops.

message-img2

I had a half dark chocolate and a half red velvet. Super sweet and crave-a-licious as always! The fact that I stopped after one is pretty remarkable. Donโ€™t worry, I was a good sister and snagged one for Rachel too.

CIMG6826

My sweet tooth has been followed up with a bunch of good, sweaty workouts and delicious homemade dinners though! Iโ€™ve been on a major eggplant kick lately and finished off my box from Trader Joeโ€™s.

CIMG6821

Topped with sauce and a little cheese, I added some whole wheat shells, broccoli, and a basil tomato to round out the bowl. I love Italian a la Kate ๐Ÿ™‚

CIMG6819

I also used some great herbs to roast red potatoes, brussel sprouts, green beans and some chicken sausage.

CIMG6816

Roasting seriously has to be one of my favorite ways too cook.  Between the smells filling the apartment and the anticipation that builds while you are waiting for everything to finish, that first bite is just oh so good!

CIMG6813

Today I went to the Farmerโ€™s Market and snagged some more eggplant. Tonight the parm was 100% all me! I sliced eggplant, dragged it through egg whites and breadcrumbs, then layered it in a pan with sauce and cheese. It came out FANTASTIC and I made enough for another meal!

CIMG6828

Okay, Iโ€™m off to watch The Office. Iโ€™m so happy that itโ€™s practically Friday!

By the way, has anyone seen the Jennie-O Turkey commercial with Ron & Mike from TBL?!? How cute are they ๐Ÿ™‚

