Ok, I’m rewinding a bit because I am dying to share my latest foodie acquisition! Christmas morning I woke up early to find my very own 11 cup CUISINART food processor under the tree!!!  Clearly I was very excited…

DSCN4753

My mom almost didn’t buy it for me, because she said that kitchen tools were too practical to be presents. She had to liken buying me kitchen gadgets to buying an artist paintbrushes before she could justify it.  Since this food processor is way too big to lug across country, she had Rachel buy another one and store it in her closet so it was waiting for me when I got back to LA.  How awesome is that!?!

Love, love, love my new toy!

DSCN4751

Of course, I hit the store as soon as I got back to town with HUMMUS in mind. Specifically, Roasted Red Pepper Curried Hummus. HMMM. Yes, instead of sticking to something foolproof, I decided to improvise and get a little bit inventive.

CIMG7385

Honestly, I’m not sure WHICH ingredient really was the standout.  All I do know is that the combination turned out pretty awesome!

CIMG7386

Into the bowl I tossed 2 cans of garbanzo beans, 3 cloves of garlic that I sautéed in 1 teaspoon of EVOO, 1 tbsp curry powder, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1 juiced lemon, a few dashes of salt, a heaping 1/4 cup roasted red peppers (w/juice) and 1/4 cup water.

CIMG7390

I turned the machine on and voila! Homemade hummus just like that.

CIMG7392

Seriously, this stuff is amazingly tasty. I made a snack plate with celery, hummus, carrots, and pita chips. Imagine this plate times many, many more!

CIMG7397

There are SO many good things I want to make.  Next up, I’m planning some kind of pesto and maybe a cauliflower mash? Oh! And nut butters! SWOON!!!! I had a great time at home, even though it went way too fast.  Christmas Eve we got all dressed up…the Tatem girls cleaned up nice 🙂

mom and girls enhanced

CIMG7375

CIMG7370

Our traditional photo shoot was followed by church and dinner at my aunt’s house.  We had some Ukrainian foods, like kielbasa, along with my aunt Toon’s homeland cuisine – Thai! Plus lots of fondue and my mom’s homemade cherry pie. Then Christmas dinner, my dad made a classic English feast.  This night is the one and only each year that I get to have Yorkshire Pudding, that my dad makes with the drippings from the prime rib.  Who knew that fat, flour, milk and egg could be oh so tasty??

CIMG7380

I had literally five pieces, along with 8 tons of mashed potatoes and some prime rib.  No worries, there was a huge unpictured salad consumed as well!

CIMG7383

This week I finally got back to the gym for the first time in ages, along with the rest of the world. I’m doing 30 minute sessions on nights when I am free, just easing into it. You should have seen my red face last night! I almost took a picture but luckily for y’all, I forgot my camera 🙂

