I haven’t photographed my food for the day in a while and I knew today was going to be pretty standard, so I figured, why not? I woke up so exhausted from my late night of sushi, cookies, and karaoke bars (in retrospect, that probably would have made for a more interesting post than my boring Thursday!) but still managed to make it to work on time. Shocking! Oh, and I even cranked out 100 crunches…my new morning routine. The poor man’s attempt at building abs I suppose.

Breakfast was standard. Coffee + fat free Coffeemate (bad Kate) + splenda (double bad Kate) in my MIT mug. I have three portable coffee mugs and I am down to the last one because I haven’t been home one night this week before midnight to actually do dishes. Oopsie.

CIMG7605

Also, a big bowl of pumpkin oats…just 1/2 cup oats, 3/4 cup water, 1/2 cup pumpkin, cinnamon & curry powder. Not watery, just whipped. MMM!

CIMG7604

I worked for a bit, then took five to sign and fax a release form stating that Burn Notice could use a photo of me for a new online video game being released. Okay, fine, really they want the image because my friend Courtney is doing an acting job for them and they happen to be using a photo of the two of us but still. LA entertains me 🙂

I was counting down the minutes to lunch today for some reason. I refuse to eat before noon but at 11:58 I dashed into the kitchen to heat up some soup. Also standard. This light Progresso soup is my new favorite, the old favorite being Minestrone. Now I only buy the two and play mix & match.

CIMG7616

I also had 4 stone wheat crackers. These were a favorite of mine as a kid. They are especially good for dipping!

CIMG7618

Every day I make some sort of green veggie to accompany lunch but today I was hard-pressed for time. And most of my frozen veggies were covered in tons of ice so they were especially unappealing. Luckily I had a nice piece of roasted butternut squash in the fridge so I added that to my meal.

CIMG7620

Dessert was a piece of Dove dark chocolate. My boss has a secret stash that I sometimes pilfer. Apparently he bought the "Tips from Martha Stewart" variety…

CIMG7624

Speaking of my boss, for him, food = hospitality. You might think that food is unnecessary at a 3PM meeting but not in my office. Funniest part, my boss barely eats himself. Still, we had lots of brownies and cookies on hand.  Since I am used to this kind of thing and no longer tempted by the massive amounts of food at work (have I mentioned that we have a well-maintained stock of Swedish fish, Laffy Taffy, Runts, Skittles & honey whole wheat pretzels? I am now immune to all these treats), I refrained from the afternoon desserts and stuck to a heated cinnapple. Just nuke for three minutes and everyone in the office will jealously sniff away.

CIMG7626

I also attempted to touch up the lavender manicure I gave myself at the office yesterday. Some days I am seriously giggly over how very girly my job can be. What, your desk doesn’t look like this?

CIMG7610

CIMG7612 

Polish and Mags. Apparently February is the month for pink mastheads but More didn’t get the memo.

CIMG7615

Don’t be too jealous. There are also many, many piles like this:

CIMG7613

After work, I pushed myself to get to the gym.  Being sleepy didn’t help but once I was there, I banged out a super sweaty 30 minutes on the elliptical. Then I headed straight home to organize my life. As previously mentioned, I haven’t been around to wash dishes all week…or clean…or sit and mindlessly watch TV. I did a little of all three, then made a calzone with homemade dough, sauce, rosemary, goat cheese, leftover turkey sausage…

CIMG7630

…and LOTS of baby bella mushrooms!

CIMG7632

The finished product was golden and delicious!

CIMG7633

Sorry for the poor lighting but believe me when I tell you it was good. I wish I had mozzarella on hand but this wasn’t too shabby.

CIMG7634   

After dinner I drove Court to LAX to catch her redeye flight.  I am a firm believer in taking friends to the airport because 1) you never feel badly asking them to drive you, 2) it’s super expensive to park your car overnight and 3) super shuttle sucks. Then I went straight home for dessert and some reading in bed. I majorly crave these Weight Watchers bars!

CIMG7637

There you have it!  A day in the [boring] life of Kate. When I have a *normal* day, it typically looks something like this. Non-normal days actually occur probably about 50% of the time and look like tomorrow, which involves being at work at 7:30 AM to get driven to Long Beach for a work thang. My boss said something about suits…doesn’t he know that girl + PR + LA = no suits, ever?! I better scrounge up some black pants and blazer that I can pass off as the real deal…

Oh wait! My sister is an engineer. Something tells me she will have an outfit to steal. Happy almost weekend!

