Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! My weekend of all things sweet actually kicked off on Friday with the arrival of a big box of Russell Stover chocolates from my mom.  Growing up, my sisters and I were always presented with these hearts on V-day.  You’d think that by age 25 the tradition might have died down but I actually received the biggest box yet. According to my mom, I’ve graduated to the “big girl” size 🙂

In addition to all these chocolates, I’ve been indulging all weekend and enjoying lots of splurge-worthy food…even in spite of the awful cold (congestion, not the weather!) that’s kept me somewhat chained to the couch. Friday night, my sister and I grabbed takeout from Pitfire Pizza and enjoyed the restaurant’s killer crust with Thursday night TV. 

CIMG7770

Read it and weep!

The Burrata Pie: Burrata cheese, Tomato sauce, Wild arugula, Caramelized onion, Hazelnut, Pesto Drizzle

CIMG7772

Saturday morning, I woke up to find my secret bloggie Valentine package sitting on my doorstep! Check out this beyond cute card…

CIMG7773

…from Heidi at Fighting with Food!  Heidi is a new-to-me blogger but from her amazing card and package, I can tell that she is absolutely fabulous.

CIMG7774

First up, Jody’s Gourmet Popcorn in Chocolate Drizzle, which is actually a local goodie from her home in Virginia Beach!

CIMG7775

Plus Caramel & Peanut flavored!

CIMG7776

And last but certainly not least – I know you see it hiding there in the middle – Mix My Granola! I’ve seen this ALL over but never ordered it myself.  Heidi hooked me up with low-fat granola, dried raspberries, dried blueberries and organic pomegranate. Doesn’t that sound dreamy??

CIMG7778

Thank you SO much Heidi for such a wonderful Valentine’s Day present! And major thanks to the newly blinged-out Janetha for setting up such a fun exchange!!

After some more chocolate and couch time, Rachel, Lindsay and I went to see Valentine’s Day on Saturday night. 

Loved it.

image

What a good movie. My cheesy, girly side was 100% satisfied! McDreamy, McSteamy AND Bradley Cooper in one film?!  I heard an interview on the radio Friday morning with director Garry Marshall saying that the film was his love letter to Los Angeles. After living here for 3+ years, I know just what he meant. Marshall included cool but lesser known spots, like the Venice Canals and Hollywood Forever Cemetery – where you actually can go see classic movies screened at night (and where picnics and wine are encouraged)! I think he did a great job of highlighting how L.A. is so much more than the Hollywood-scene. And the storylines were great. Rachel and I cried at the exact same point, and when it was over, we turned to each other and said, “Buying this the day it comes out.” Great minds think alike people 🙂

Today, I went and picked out my early birthday present from my mom! I have to wait until Wednesday to get it from the store, so you’ll just have to wait along with me to see it. The blue skies, bright sun, and 75 degree temps have put me in such a good mood. Excuse me while I get on my sappy soapbox but I am so grateful for the love of my family, and my friends, and all you out there. Whether you spent today with your dream guy, or your sister, or your best friend, or yourself, I hope you just enjoyed all the LOVE!

