For my first flashback Friday, I figured what better subject than MY BIRTHDAY! Today I turn the big 26. No longer mid-20s I suppose…insert freak out here!

Anyway, I know a lot of people who aren’t all that into their birthdays. Not me. I love birthdays! I walk around on Cloud 9, open presents with the zeal of a kindergartener, treat myself to little luxuries all day long, and go out at night wearing my tiara. No joke, you will see!

I wish I could jet home and scan some pictures from the pre-digital camera age because I had some of the best parties. Popular spots included the ice skating rink and Seashore Day Camp, where you could play games and go swimming. The parties my mom threw were the best though. I’m not kidding when I say my mom is literally a party-planning genius.

One year, I had an under-the-sea themed party. We made a mermaid and propped her up on a beach chair in the snow in the front yard. We had a treasure hunt throughout the house, and made chocolate lollipops using candy molds in the shape of fish. My mom even covered all the windows in the house with blue Saran wrap so you felt like you were in an aquarium. And don’t get me started on the loot bags…

So sadly I don’t have any of these awesome photos here in LA but I do have a few from my last 5 birthdays!

2009 – I celebrated #25 in Vegas! My sweet peaches flew me down to the City of Sin and we spent the night…oops, I can’t tell you. What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas, remember??

I’m serious guys. I have to at least pretend I’m respectable, mmmkay?

image

We did kick off the night right with a major primping party in our hotel suite. The girls decked it out in streamers and balloons and candy before I arrived, and then presented me with this appropriate disco themed bottle. Best night ever. Best friends ever!

image

2008 – I rang in #24 with a huge group of friends at Happy Ending. Think dance, drinks, and about 400 photos.

image

You know your birthday was a good one when you find yourself hanging out with Corey Matthews.

image

2007 – #23 was a sweet one.  It was my first birthday in LA and in an effort to include all my new friends, I invited basically everyone and their mother to Saddle Ranch for brunch.  We ordered the dessert platter in lieu of cake and were served an overflowing volcano of cotton candy. Insane!

image

I also rode the bull for the first time at my party. Yes, it’s daylight and no, I didn’t have a Sex in the City moment and rip off my dress, although I did have to hold onto my top!

image

2006 – #22 marked my final year in college! A group of my girlfriends and I went to get fabulous Mexican food at Lauriol Plaza in Dupont Circle. Then we hit up the bars in Adams Morgan. Here’s me and my old roomie Lauren, still looking somewhat put together!

image

We also apparently met some interesting characters that night…

image

2005 – I celebrated #21 in France! On one hand, turning 21 abroad was no great shakes. Bartenders don’t check your ID, and finally being able to drink isn’t all that exciting since you can already drink in Europe anyway. 

That said, everyone made sure I had the best birthday possible! My host parents threw me a mini dinner party complete with champagne, chocolate cake, and presents.  Then my France friends threw me a surprise party! How cool is it that I can say I had my first surprise party ever in a tiny apartment in Bastille while living in Paris??

image

Unfortunately that’s where the flashback ends, but I promise I’ll have some fun new birthday shots to share after this weekend so stay tuned! I still have to find a cute crown for this year. I look to Glinda as the ultimate aspiration 🙂

image

HAPPY BIRTHDAY WEEKEND! I will eat an extra slice of ice cream cake for each of you!

