I’m often inspired by recipes I see in books, magazines, and blogs. I have a binder filled with these tear outs and printouts but I rarely ever make the recipes. I think because so many of them call for ingredients I never have on hand, or think they sound too tedious. However, I couldn’t help but be inspired by the recipe for Ginger Noodles with Tofu in the March issue of Everyday with Rachael Ray. I love ginger!

CIMG7815

Of course, I didn’t really follow the recipe and mine looked nothing like Rachael’s, but it was pretty tasty! First, I grated a bunch of fresh ginger and sliced some crimini mushrooms.

CIMG7783

Sadly, I didn’t have any tofu, so I just sautéed the mushrooms, ginger, and lemon juice on a skillet with some Kikkoman Ponzu Lime sauce.

CIMG7786

I boiled some water for noodles and added even more ginger to the pot. I wasn’t kidding – I love ginger!

CIMG7785

I added a serving of whole wheat spaghetti (would have been so much better with linguini!) to the boiling water.  With 3 minutes to go, I added fresh broccoli and snap peas to the pasta pot.  When everything was cooked, I scooped it out and turned off the burner, then added a few handfuls of broccoli slaw to the hot water for about 30 seconds of wilting action.

Finally, I mixed everything together and topped with more lime Ponzu sauce. Here’s the finished product!

CIMG7789

Side by side with Rachael’s…they look nothing alike, but mine was tasty! I will definitely be cooking with fresh ginger more often and it was nice to FINALLY dig into my recipe binder!

CIMG7815CIMG7789

I wish I could say I’ve been eating a lot of these fresh and healthy meals, but I’ve been enjoying my fair share of pizza and chocolate this weekend. Well, actually the last two weeks. Maybe next week I can work on that clean slate?! I feel like I go through periods of eating super well, eating decently, and eating according to my cravings (100% carbs and ice cream). I’d like to think they balance out in the end…

Anyone else go through eating cycles??

