This weekend, I attended my FIRST triathlon — as a spectator of course! The guy I’ve been seeing wanted to surprise his brother who was doing the Long Course (1 mile swim, 56 mile bike ride, half marathon run) so we headed a few hours north to check out the Wildflower Triathlon. We took a boat over to the event start, which was windy and gorgeous. Not that you can really see my face in this photo, but you can see the sun! and my huge grin!

We actually managed to spot his brother 4 minutes and 30 seconds before his age group started. Which was shocking, because the scene looked something like this:

Once we found him though, we were able to track and spot him throughout the rest of the day. Luckily, I have a big mouth and don’t mind screaming, so I was able to cheer my little heart out. With lots of time to kill, we wandered the grounds, ate pizza and gelato, and even hiked to the halfway point of the run to catch his bro and pump him up. Seriously, look at this breathtaking place! The grass and I had a nice moment together.

After his brother finished, we headed back to downtown Paso Robles to hit up a few wine tasting rooms before dinner. My favorite stop was our first, at Arroyo Robles.  I ended up pretty tipsy and in love with a new bubbly, Almond Sparkling Wine. The almond flavoring seriously takes this glass up a major notch!

I wish I had food photos but I ended up with a whole lot of scenery instead! Sunday we decided to detour and extend our mini vaycay by visiting Hearst Castle. I haven’t had a good history lesson in ages! We did the Experience Tour…and our tour guide was kind of a grump, but the grounds more than made up for it.

Casa del Sol — the 18 room guesthouse:

The Neptune Pool (which totally reminded me of a Vegas hotel!):

Casa Grande, which includes a personal movie theater:

The Roman Pool (check out the diving platform on the right!):

In between the walking tour and the movie, we had some time to kill so we popped a bottle of the Almond sparkler from the night before and munched on some baby shortbread biscuits that the tasting room had Ziplock-ed for us.

Yes, in the trunk of the car.

It was such a nice, funny moment. And let’s pretend it was classy as well, mmmkay?

We didn’t get home until after 10PM but the side trip was so worth it! Getting out of LA and pretending I was on a full fledged vacation was just what I needed. Of course, now I am itching for a longer trip but I will take what I can get.

In other news, I think everyone should celebrate Cinco de Mayo tonight by watching my Julia on The New Adventures of Old Christine on CBS at 8PM!!! We are having a mini party tonight and I made an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie cake to share. Not Mexican, but delicious nonetheless 🙂

