I collect recipes. I’m talking, big black binder stuffed with all kinds of ideas for everything from smoothies and breads to cakes and salads. Yet, I don’t really use recipes all that often. Maybe because I don’t have the ingredients? Or because they seem too elaborate? (AKA because I’m lazy?)

Whatever the reason, you know something has really piqued my interest when I actually take the step beyond tagging to cooking.  When my coworker gave me this copy of Everyday Food: Fresh, Fast, Flavorful, I immediately started flagging recipes.

image

I mean, aren’t you drooling over this sandwich? 

CIMG8383

Luckily, all I needed to pick up from the store was a lemon to make the Fig Spread that caught my eye! Ever since moving to California and discovering figs, I regularly buy these Trader Joe’s dried Calimyrna figs. They are oh so good!

The recipe just calls for 4 things – figs, water, sugar and lemon. Instead of sugar, I finally broke into my bag of Nevella, a no calorie sweetener that I won from Jenn at Slim Shoppin’.  I thought the final spread tasted perfect, with no added calories from the sugar!

CIMG8378

In a medium saucepan, combine figs with sugar and 1 1/2 cups water; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, covered, until most of liquid has evaporated and figs are easily pierced with the tip of a sharp paring knife, about 20 minutes.

CIMG8380

Transfer mixture to a food processor; add lemon juice. Puree until smooth.

CIMG8381

For my sandwich, I put the fig spread & goat cheese on one side and barbecued chicken & arugula on the other. It was incredible!

fig sandwich

CIMG8391 

Sweet, savory, contrasting hot & cold with the peppery bite of arugula and the doughy roll – this sandwich ended up tasting better than I imagined. Maybe I should follow recipes more often 🙂

Now I just need to think of other uses for this fig spread. I’m seeing at least one PB & Fig sandwich in my future.  Also, I haven’t been above swiping my finger in the jar and eating it straight. What can I say? This stuff is delicious!

