This weekend I had one of the best breakfasts of my life. Make that two of the Top 5 because we ate at Cafe Pasqual’s twice. This restaurant uses fresh, seasonal, organic and naturally raised foods, which was a pleasant plus. It ended up being a little rainy all weekend so hot coffee was a must. I can’t lie, I snuck in some Splenda the next day since the restaurant only uses natural sweeteners and I needed an added kick.

CIMG8422

The boy got baby cup of espresso with a piece of homemade candied orange peel on the side. So adorable, no?

CIMG8420

For my first meal on vacation, I decided to branch out of my comfort zone and order something that seemed truly Southwestern: Griddled Polenta from Anson Mills, with Niman Ranch Chorizo, Roasted Corn Kernels, Red Chile Sauce and two poached eggs.  It was spicy, savory, and really amazing. I can’t say enough good things about this meal!

CIMG8423

Day 2 I mixed it up and got the whole wheat pancakes. Literally melt-in-your-mouth…I swear these were made with sugar because they were so light and sweet and airy. I would pay for that recipe!

Santa Fe is such a cute town. I couldn’t believe the abundance of adobe buildings though; there must be a law mandating this style!? We ended up wandering through the annual Spanish Market and saw more Catholic art and skeleton paintings than you can possibly imagine. A few streets over we found another area with cowboy hats and fun animal sculptures, like these bears.

CIMG8430

Too cute.

CIMG8429

Speaking of bears, the rain stopped Sunday morning and we accidentally found a great little hiking trail. Bear Canyon anyone?

CIMG8444

See? First blue of the weekend!

sky edit

The forest was surprisingly lush! We left the “maintained trail” and went exploring. We also came upon dozens of rock towers. Of course, I was overly fascinated and couldn’t stop taking pictures.

CIMG8435

CIMG8437

CIMG8441

Sorry that my photos skip from the first morning to the last afternoon, but I guarantee all the moments in between were just as amazing. It was so nice getting out of LA for the weekend; I shelved work and life and just relaxed. Sometimes two days is all you need…although, I would have happily taken a few more 🙂

