This meal is belated but I couldn’t let these gorgeous photos or delicious food go unmentioned! The other week, KJ offered to whip me up dinner (a healthy dinner no less) if I made the drive to her place. Clearly I was the winner of this tradeoff! Along with gorgeous fresh salads topped with Kate’s homemade dressing, she cooked swordfish steaks for the main dish. Does this not scream summer on a plate, or what?

DSC_6741

Kate topped the swordfish steaks in a great sauce made with whipped butter, chives, dill, rosemary, cilantro, and parsley.  All fresh herbs from her gardening of course!  She let me in on a little secret; instead of adding cream to the sauce, she used fresh lemon juice which made the little bit of butter taste incredibly rich.

DSC_6744

We also drank some great white wine. What is it about girlfriends getting together and drinking wine? It’s like the chicken and egg; can one happen without the other? Well, I suppose so, but sipping wine while gossiping/eating/bonding is just way too much fun to forgo.

DSC_6745

Even better, I had fish leftover for lunch the next day. Kate also added some homemade coconut fried rice to my “take home” Tupperware to make a complete meal. Hostess of the year? I’m thinking YES. Hopefully my flattery will score me another KJ home cooked meal sooner rather than later 🙂

