Intro to PR…sounds like one of my COMM classes in college ๐Ÿ™‚

Well, I’m back! I had such a great time in Puerto Rico; I don’t know how I can possibly recap all our adventures but since the boy has most of the photos, I’ll just start with the pictures I have from my first day.

The flights were long (LA to Miami, Miami to PR) but I was on VACATION so I didn’t mind. And if I was a little sleepy after being awake for almost 24 hours, flying over the island woke me right up!

After landing and grabbing our car (which proved to be very inappropriate for Puerto Rico’s tiny roads!), we headed to La Conchaย in San Juan.ย  The boy told me he’d gotten an amazing view…and he was so right. Waking up with a cup of coffee on this balcony every morning was perfect.

Of course, we immediately hit the beach for some swimming, reading, sunning, and tropical-themed boozing. The ocean was clear down to your toes and warm like a bath. After frolicking a bit (yep, we really were giddy), we kicked back and ordered what would become our signature drink of the trip — the aptly namedย Under the Coconut Tree — which includes coconut rum, peach schnapps, orange juice, mango puree, coconut cream and a grenadine splash. Can you tell how much I loved this moment?

I read the new Lauren Weisberger book, Last Night at Chateau Marmont, on the plane ride (wasn’t kidding about not sleeping), and luckily brought Tom Rachman’s The Imperfectionists for the beach. Each chapter is dedicated to a different person tied to a struggling English language, global newspaper based in Rome. All of the characters are innocuously tied together, and each story reads like a mini-novel in itself. Here’s a great review in The New York Times if you’re interested!

Okay, back on track. After a relaxing morning, we headed into San Juan for a late afternoon lunch at Caficultura, which made it into our restaurant rotation twice. We wandered around town for a bit after. I really loved all the brightly colored buildings that dotted the streets. Wonder if you need to confer with the neighbors to make sure everyone chooses a different loud, vibrant color?

After a big afternoon nap, we decided to stay in the neighborhood for dinner at Perla, a luxury seafood spot in our hotel. The restaurant is shaped like a huge shell. You have to see it to believe it…

Kind of neat, huh? For dinner, I got the seared sesame crusted tuna with Szechuan peppercorn sauce and red lentil stew. I’m not the biggest lentil fan so I wasn’t sure I’d like this side dish, but the lentils were unusually crisp/crunchy and I really enjoyed it!

Of course, we started with Chardonnay…

…and ended with dessert! When I see “soft,” “warm,” and “chocolate” on the menu, you can bet I’ll be all over it.

SOFT CENTER WARM CHOCOLATE CROQUANT CAKE
Hazelnut Infused Vanilla Sauce, Cocoa Nib Tuiles and Gianduja Ice Cream

Interestingly, it was the nuts that made the dish. They were so perfectly roasted and I made sure to get a few in every bite. I finished up Friday happy as a clam and ready to hit the road for the rest of the weekend. No more lazing for us. Stay tuned for hiking, kayaking, exploring, snorkeling and all around craziness!

