If you’ve ever stopped to read Eats Well with Others, you know that Joanne is an exceptional cook. Okay, maybe I haven’t actually tasted any of her dishes, but they all look amazing. Also, she has a gift for seeking out unusual recipes or combining unique ingredients on her own — to fabulous results. I’ve marked lots of her posts, adding them to my “try” list, but I couldn’t get past this fig and ricotta pizza.

Fine, I didn’t have ricotta. And I skipped the maple-balsamic reduction, not because it doesn’t sound amazing (!!!), but because I was very hungry and I’m terrible at reducing balsamic vinegar. I mess it up every time.

I did have fresh figs though, so my homemade pizza dough got topped with those, plus halved Farmer’s Market cherry tomatoes, goat cheese, and rosemary.Β 

L1000661

The figs were incredible on the warm, crusty dough. Next time, I am definitely making this with ricotta though…or maybe a combo of the two cheeses? Oh, and doubling the figs of course.

L1000663

Since I wasn’t sure how this pizza would turn out, I went traditional on the other half, with tomato sauce, mozzarella cheese, mushroom and rosemary.

L1000664

With endless topping combinations, making my own pizza is like creating a new recipe every time. No two pizzas alike!

L1000666cropped

And I’m amazed; I’ve always liked pizza of course, but growing up I was a 1 or 2 slice, cheese-only kind of girl. Now I say, the more toppings the better! I love getting creative with my pizzas…pineapple being the new favorite addition. What’s your favorite pizza topping?

Maybe I’ll use it on my next pie, which I’ll probably be making in a day or two, knowing me πŸ™‚

