I haven’t completely given up on trying out new recipes every week; I’ve just been really busy and am hardly at home for dinner! I’m determined to keep up with meal planning though; it makes grocery shopping and deciding what to cook/eat much easier. I’ve been relying on my Everyday Food cookbook, as just about all the recipes appeal to me. Last week, I gave Martha Stewart’s Spaghetti Puttenesca a try, but changed the recipe so much that I’m not sure I can even call it that!

First, I meant to get anchovies. I forgot that the boy doesn’t like fishy fish and that I would have to leave it out of his portion. Then, I somehow ended up with sardines in my cart instead.

At least I got ones that were skinless, boneless, and marinating in olive oil…now, I know I’ve seen these being eaten all over the food blog world but I was still wary!  To a jar of canned whole tomatoes, I added garlic, salt, ground pepper, artichoke hearts, capers, and the smashed sardines.

Served with whole wheat spaghetti, voila!

I have to admit, I didn’t entirely mind the sardines. They added a salty bite to the sauce. In fact, between the sardines and the capers and the kosher salt I added at the beginning (overkill, I know!), the dish was extremely salty but in a more complex way than just an overload of simple table salt.

I can’t lie; I did throw away the rest of the fish that I didn’t use in the pasta. I just wasn’t ready to conquer sardines!

