Sunday was heavenly in Malibu. The temperatures were in the mid to high 70s, and the sun was shining. The boy and I hit the water, where I got to test out my new wetsuit for the very first time! We went surfing and paddle boarding. While on the paddle board, I saw 2 seals jumping around within spitting distance. I swear, my legs were shaking so hard at the sheer awesomeness that I almost toppled off the board.

When we broke for lunch, it was almost 1pm and I was ravenous! We went to my favorite summer spot, John’s Garden, where I got an egg salad, avocado and sprout sandwich. The sandwiches here are massive but filled with the freshest ingredients. You can’t help but want to finish every single bite. The sunlight made it hard to get a good shot, but honestly, I wasn’t complaining about that!

We also had some salt & vinegar chips on the side, with Stewart’s diet root beer for me, Virgil’s cream soda for him.

Later that night, I finished off the day with a bit of chocolate gelato from Malibu Yogurt. This flavor, Italian Kiss, is incredibly rich and hands down my favorite. They rotate choices every few days, so we bought 2 large cups so we could eat a bit every night this week. Along with my new book, Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand – which I’m liking a lot so far.

Sunday was like July in December! I got a little taste of winter though on Saturday night, at Winston’s holiday party. I went to CVS beforehand to find the perfect Santa hat, but I ended up with this snowman version after the boy burst out laughing when seeing it on my head. Can’t beat an easy chuckle, right?

I’m not going to lie, a little too much of this…

…led to a not-so-nice headache Sunday morning. I never handle more than one glass of champagne very well, and I never learn my lesson! Thankfully, a few Advil quickly did the trick and we were still able to hit the water nice and early.

Can you believe it’s only a week and a half until Christmas?! Somehow, I’ve been shopping a dozen times and I still have more to do. I’m hoping to finish by Saturday at the latest. Sunday is the annual Laguna Beach Christmas Carol party and I don’t want to have to do anything that day but sing and bake & eat cookies!

