For dinner this week, I went back to my new Ellie Krieger cookbook many times. As a carb lover, her many pasta recipes immediately caught my eye. One in particular sounded great, and I meant to follow it exactly, but I ended up switching out quite a few ingredients, turning her Fettuccine with Creamy Red Pepper Sauce into my Linguini with Sweet & Spicy Red Pepper Sauce. Also delicious!

This recipe serves 3. Or, in my case, 1 girl and 1 boy. It’s the perfect amount to make for a couple; of course, feel free to get annoyed as I always do that men can eat more than women without immediately gaining weight!

Ingredients:
1 tsp. EVOO
1 cup diced white onion & shallot
2-3 garlic cloves, minced
8 oz. sweet piquante peppers
1/4 cup low-soduim vegetable broth
2 oz. goat cheese
1 cup mushrooms, sliced
3 servings whole wheat linguini
Salt and pepper

Toppings:
Chopped fresh parsley
Crushed red pepper
Goat cheese
Freshly grated parmesan

Cook!
Heat the oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic and cook until softened, approximately 5 minutes. Drain, rinse and chop the peppers (I used Trader Joe’s Peppadews). Add to pan until heated through.

Transfer peppers, onion and garlic to a food processor, adding the goat cheese and vegetable broth. Process until smooth.

In the same frying pan, add raw mushrooms and cook on medium heat, turning until soft and golden.

Meanwhile, cook linguini according to package instructions. Save 1/4 cup pasta water after draining to thicken the sauce. Toss the pasta with sauce, adding pasta water as needed. Add cooked mushrooms. Season with salt and pepper and divide into three (or, in my case, two) bowls. Add your toppings and serve!

I made his and her versions based on our tastes. His had crushed red pepper and parmesan cheese:

Mine had parsley and goat cheese!

I loved this sauce! The goat cheese made it so rich and creamy, and the peppers were both spicy and sweet. I guess I’ve never had peppadew peppers before, because I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’ll definitely be cooking with these again! You could also use a jar of regular roasted peppers though for a smoky flavor, or if you don’t like spicy foods.

Unfortunately, I thought all the other ingredients would mask the goat cheese in the sauce. Goat cheese = the boy’s least favorite food. While I could barely taste it, he couldn’t eat more than a few bites. I wasn’t intending to trick him; I actually thought he’d eat it and love it and then I could use goat cheese in our meals more often. Nope. Apparently, when you grow up on a farm in Minnesota, goat cheese tastes like stinky, smelly animals instead of the delicious, creamy perfection everyone else loves. Lesson learned.

But, if you like goat cheese even a little bit, this dish will be a big hit! And don’t worry about the boy’s neglected plate. Leftovers for lunch never tasted so good 🙂

