Happy Valentine’s Day!

Err, only a little late.

The boy teased me all weekend about how much I love this holiday, but I think I really just get very excited over special occasions. And, I love love. Family love, friend love, boyfriend love, pet love…I get the warm fuzzies just thinking about it all.

The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, right? That must have been what I was thinking when I decided to make the boy’s favorite meal Sunday night: beef wellington. I personally have never heard of this dish, let alone tasted it, but I was sold at the word “puff pastry.” Thanks to a fabulous tutorial, I felt quite prepared, but apparently I’m not that skilled at cooking beef and my medium-rare meat turned into well-done before my very eyes.

Luckily I hit a home run with my dessert, individual flourless chocolate cakes. I bought some 3.5 oz. ramekins at World Market a while back, but hadn’t used them yet. At first glance I thought they’d be too small, but the size was perfect.

Also, it’s easy!

Preheat oven to 350.

In a large bowl, beat 3 egg whites on high speed. As they thicken, slowly add 1/4 cup sugar, bit by bit. Separately, melt 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips with 2.5 tbsp. butter until smooth. Add 3 egg yolks to chocolate/butter mixture. Fold chocolate into whipped egg whites and sugar. You want to combine thoroughly, but avoid stirring.

Pour into 4 buttered 3.5 oz. ramekins. Place dishes on a baking sheet and cook for 20-25 minutes. Remove and let cool slightly. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve warm with vanilla ice cream. Only 4 ingredients and pretty darn awesome.

