We celebrated a birthday at work on Friday with Sprinkles cupcakes. I picked up a half dozen red velvet for the office and a chocolate/chocolate one for me. I couldn’t resist adding the wine later…double the cupcake!

20110410-084301.jpg

I honestly don’t know what they put in these things, but it’s almost addictive. I ate one around 3PM and was full for the next 6 hours.

20110410-084336.jpg

I often skip the cake part and just eat the icing, but these are good from start to finish. They must use a ton of butter and cocoa because the cupcakes are so incredibly rich. I also love the little wooden forks. Everyone else in my office switched theirs out for plastic because they thought the wood tasted a bit dry and strange. It reminds me of being a kid though, and eating ice cream dixie cups at parties with those little wooden sticks. Sprinkles’ forks are the grownup version!

20110410-084351.jpg

Today was a day of driving and shopping. The boy and I hit up the Rose Bowl flea market, which was sadly a bust. I did see a lot of cute knickknacks, but we were on the prowl for bigger furniture — bookcase, desk, lots of kitchen and bedroom storage. While the prices were right, the styles weren’t, so we also went to Restoration Hardware and Crate & Barrel. The woman at Restoration Hardware mentioned an outlet about an hour away, so we decided to take a quick road trip. Apparently the outlet only gets shipments once a week and the furniture gets snapped up in a second, so everything good was already sold!

But the trip wasn’t for naught. The drive home took us along the ocean and past a fruit stand. Strawberries, blueberries…

20110410-084421.jpg

20110410-084440.jpg

…and mangos as big as the boy’s palm.

20110410-084504.jpg

I also went to Great Harvest for the first time! We got a loaf of honey wheat to-go and this bread couldn’t be more doughy.

20110410-084454.jpg

Tonight I ate a poached egg on toast for dinner, and I’m planning an almond butter sandwich for lunch tomorrow. There’s nothing like fresh bakery bread! I’m guessing this loaf won’t last long.

