I can’t believe I’ve been missing in action since the end of May! Since my last post, I have moved to Malibu, started a wine club, went with my sisters to Vegas to celebrate the youngest’s 21st birthday, went BACK to Vegas twice more for work, traveled to Toronto, celebrated three additional birthdays, spent nine days on a lake in Minnesota, and flew to Madison for a long weekend with a college friend! In July alone, I have been in LA for only 7 of the past 19 days. So, hopefully my disappearing act makes more sense. To be honest, it has been really nice just going about my day and not worrying about when/where blogging will fit. But, I’ve missed it all the same!

Since I’m from the East Coast, vacations that don’t involve going home to visit family don’t happen very often. For my lake trip, I mixed it up slightly and went to visit the boy’s family instead! We got there just in time for the annual 4th of July parade, where costumes are a must (and where I got to ride a 4-wheeler. I wasn’t all that impressed until I actually got behind the wheel, then thought it was awesome).

The rest of the trip went something like this:

  • Wake up. Eat Kashi cereal with milk and bananas.
  • Read on porch swing.
  • Sit on dock and read some more.
  • Play tennis, or hop on the boat for tubing, kneeboarding and water skiing.
  • Enjoy a fend-for-yourself lunch (leftovers, fried egg sandwiches).
  • Play with kiddos. Read some more.
  • Back on the lake.
  • Start drinking gin & tonics or mojitos around 6PM.
  • Take turns making dinner for the group (I made sweet potato black bean enchiladas and pizza – both were a hit!)
  • Enjoy dinner together on the porch.
  • Play cards. Eat popcorn. Chat.
  • Sleep and repeat.

Since pictures speak louder than words, I’m glad I have quite a few photos to illustrate. Here are just a few of the hundreds I snapped!

One of my favorite things in the world to do is curl up with a good book, and at the lake, I managed to read seven of them. The day before we left, I stopped by the library and searched the shelves. I much prefer to read recommended books, but because I didn’t want to have to buy so many, I just scanned the new release and fiction sections at the library. Some of the books were pretty bad, but there were a few I really liked! The best was definitely The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen, which took me three days to read and prompted me to grab his new book, Freedom, when I got home.

Speaking of home, I am back and so excited that I have a schedule and a meal plan for the week. Crazy talk, right? I’m sure I’ll be jonesing for another trip before long.

Three cheers for summer!

