I’ve been working on a “project” for the past two months, and finally got to see and experience the end result this past week. I coordinated the nail teams for a few very special people – Max Azria, Jason Wu, and Rebecca Taylor. Yup, I’m talking about New York Fashion Week! It was a whirlwind three days, in which I discovered a few things:

  1. You CAN wear flats to NYFW, especially if you’re going to be backstage on your feet for three hours before the show. But if you’re going to wear heels (like I did), stick with wedges.
  2. Taxi drivers are nuts. And rude. As if I really want a 15-minute lecture about bringing a coffee cup into your cab…a cup that was thrown out before entering, as per the driver’s “request” aka “demand.”
  3. Taxi drivers are also genius when it comes to getting from point A to point B in the least amount of time possible. I was able to catch both shows on Friday, and get all the photos I needed, despite the tiny time window!
  4. Matching red lips and nails is the bomb.
  5. Cheese plates are underrated. Not only are they filling, my littlest sister and I spent nearly an hour chatting over one. It’s the perfect thing to order when you want to talk and linger.
  6. NYC is so lively, but truly too much for me. I felt guilty when I wasn’t go, go, going.
  7. You CAN fit 9 days worth of gear in a carry on suitcase. Even when you buy 5 new books at the Borders’ closing sale and new clothes over Labor Day weekend. Your suitcase might looks extremely distended and bloated, but it’s possible!
  8. Ordering room service is always fun, especially when every meal comes with it’s own basket of bread AND you have nowhere else to eat but in bed.
  9. The fashion industry is intense. And pretty cool.

BCBG Max Azria

Jason Wu

Rebecca Taylor

As far as my list of work perks go, this might just be the coolest one yet!

