One of my favorite things about going home is the food. My mom’s fridge, freezer and pantry are always filled with foods I ate, and loved, while growing up. Since I don’t have a huge closet for food, or a family of five to feed, my own supplies are much more minimal. Basically, I have on hand the food I need for the week’s meals, plus some pasta, fruit, and flour. It’s nearly impossible for me to finish even the smallest container of milk before it goes bad, so cereal has become a crunchy topper for greek yogurt instead. But at home, my mom buys milk by the gallon and cereal varieties by the half dozen. Even my dad, who rarely (if ever) eats breakfast, has both milk and multiple boxes of super delicious granola at his place. So, when I went home the other week, it was cereal and milk every morning.

Trader Joe’s Raisin Bran + banana

I always think cereal won’t keep me full unless I eat too many bowls, but I’m quickly proving myself wrong. I’ve hit the pause button on my weekend yogurt messes for the moment and added cereal to the list of food staples in my apartment. At least, until I finish the half gallon of milk currently sitting in my fridge…or it spoils, whichever comes first.

Barbara’s Shredded Wheat + banana

How could I have possibly forgotten just how darn good cereal tastes?! Add a mug of hot coffee and something to read (I just finished – and loved – Happens Every Day by Isabel Gillies), and you have the makings of a really great Sunday morning.

