Like most women, I’ve owned many pairs of shoes. When I was in high school, I rocked iridescent pink ballet slippers with sparkly bows. In college, I swapped candy colored Nine West heels with half the girls in my dorm so we could each wear a different pair of shoes every other night of the week. When I first moved to LA, I tried to make up the height difference between me and my girlfriends with mega platforms (which I could only wear for about an hour. Luckily Julia was always willing to swap with me, even though we’re a full shoe size apart). In the last year or so, I’ve been all about the wedge. Height and stability: it’s exactly what I need. For spring, I’m being seriously tempted by a “new” style – the flatform. I’m on a mission! I think these shoes will make my legs look miles long and I might actually be able to walk miles in them. Win-win.

Elizabeth and James

Pour La Victoire

The problem is, I can’t find a single pair that I really like for less than $200. I’ve tried looking through at least a dozen sites. To be fair, I’ve only given Zappos a halfhearted glance because it overwhelms me. Any suggestions? Or should I just slip on last year’s wedges and call it a day?

