Saturday night, I stayed up late making Ukrainian Easter bread, paska. I started at 6PM but forgot the bread has to rise three separate times for nearly four hours. Which means I didn’t pull this baby out of the oven until 12:30 in the morning, oops! I also decided that I really need to invest in some smaller baking pans. This 8.5 inch spring-form pan makes an insanely big loaf of paska. I was worried the inside would be under-baked but thankfully it was fine. Last year, I cut into the bread and it was still gooey in the middle!

A nice little group got together for brunch on Sunday; we had the Easter bread with hard boiled eggs, Brussels sprouts and kale salad, pasta salad, chicken sausage and peppers, fresh pineapple and strawberries, and endless mimosas.

Rachel surprised me by bringing another Ukrainian dish – pierogies! I cannot begin to explain how much I love these pasta/potato bites. I can eat dozens in a sitting and have been known to hog them at all family functions. Rachel even stuck a joke kapusta (sauerkraut) one in there…the only kind of pierogi I won’t eat.  Actually, she didn’t have sauerkraut so she used relish instead. Don’t worry, no one ate it!

I also made my Easter-inspiration dessert. I’m always a little nervous trying a new recipe when making only one dessert but this came out perfectly. The cake was so moist thanks to a cream cheese-based filling. I even made my own buttermilk for the recipe! I hate buying a whole container of something for just one use. Did you know you can mix 1 tbsp. lemon juice with 1 cup milk to make buttermilk? So easy and efficient. The cake was delicious and everyone asked for the recipe — win/win in my book! I’m definitely adding this to my repeat list for the future.

After eating, we played Apples to Apples and I lost miserably. Other than that, it was a great Easter. Hope yours was just as delicious!

